Pre-Firenze Shock

So this is going to sound a lot like those oh-I-am-so-excited-to-study-abroad posts that not many people read…… In my defense, I have to start somewhere with this blog and that’s the only starting point I have right now, my feelings, exciting I know. Well, I am going to be living in Florence, Italy for 3 weeks while taking a class that has to do with sustainable food systems in Italy. I really don’t think this is any harder from me moving to say, Houston, if I speak Italian. Well, I don’t, and I am going to have to manage to survive those 3 weeks getting food or buying stuff using phrases from a dictionary and a lot of hand gestures. Ought to be fun.

Don’t get me wrong, I am really excited about living in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I am also really excited to finally taste authentic la cucina italiana, which, as I have learned, is actually a collection of regional cuisines instead of one single, national cuisine. It certainly will be a nice change after two semesters of dorm food. I am actually excited about cooking Italian food using Italian food in Italy, though budgeting is still a concern. I am also excited to try the tripe sandwich that so many people on the program just outright said no to when they heard about it. Really, I had tripe before, and it is quite tasty in my opinion. Then again I lived in Taiwan, where Andrew Zimmerman claimed many things I eat to be bizarre :P

Leave a comment

Filed under Firenze

Leave a Reply

